App Store Builders 2026: Every Builder That Publishes
A complete 2026 comparison of app builders that publish to the Apple App Store: how much of the publishing each one handles, native versus cross-platform output, the cheapest plan that publishes, year-one costs for iOS and both stores, and Apple's rules.
Published · Last updated
App Store Builders: The Short Answer
Superapp, Adalo, Bubble, FlutterFlow, Thunkable, GoodBarber, Appy Pie and BuildFire all publish apps to the Apple App Store from their own tools, and Replit and Bolt get there through Expo's build services. They differ in two ways that matter more than any feature list: how much of the publishing they actually do for you, and what the cheapest plan that publishes really costs. Superapp prepares the build, metadata, screenshots and privacy details and submits the app, for native Swift apps on Apple platforms, at $25 a month. Cross-platform builders publish to the App Store and Google Play from one project, from $37 a month on Thunkable's annual Builder plan. Web app builders such as Glide, Lovable and Base44 do not produce native App Store apps.
Quick answer: Which app builders publish directly to the App Store? Superapp publishes native Swift iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Mac apps and handles the submission, including metadata, screenshots and privacy details, on Pro at $25 a month, about $399 in year one with Apple's 99 USD fee. For iPhone and Android from one project, Thunkable (Builder, $37 a month billed annually), FlutterFlow (Basic, $39 a month), Bubble (Starter Mobile, $42 a month billed annually), GoodBarber (Premium, $55 a month billed yearly), Adalo (Builder, $624 a year), Appy Pie (Platinum, $60 a month per app) and BuildFire (Standard, $165 a month) all publish to both stores. Replit and Bolt publish React Native apps through Expo. Glide, Lovable and Base44 build web apps rather than native App Store apps. Every route also needs your own Apple Developer account at 99 USD a year.
Every app builder that publishes to the App Store, at a glance
| Builder | How much of publishing it does | iOS output | Cheapest plan that publishes | Also Google Play? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superapp | Prepares build, metadata, screenshots and privacy details, then submits | Native Swift and SwiftUI | Pro, $25 a month | No |
| Thunkable | Builds and uploads from the platform; you supply signing files and finish in App Store Connect | Cross-platform | Builder, $37 a month annually or $59 monthly | Yes |
| FlutterFlow | Builds and uploads with your API key; you finish the listing in App Store Connect | Flutter | Basic, $39 a month | Yes |
| Bubble | Builds and uploads from the editor; you finish in App Store Connect; mobile in beta | React Native | Starter Mobile, $42 a month annually or $49 monthly | Yes |
| GoodBarber | Native publishing on Premium plans | Native, compiled in Swift and Kotlin | Content Premium, $55 a month billed yearly | Yes |
| Adalo | Guided workflow through App Store Connect | Native builds (IPA) from a cross-platform project | Builder, $65 a month or $624 a year | Yes |
| Appy Pie | Publishes on its iOS plan | Template-based | Platinum, $60 a month per app as listed | Yes |
| BuildFire | Publishes to any platform on Standard | BuildFire platform apps | Standard, $165 a month | Yes |
| Replit | Guided flow to TestFlight and App Store Connect via Expo | React Native | Not stated in its docs | Yes |
| Bolt | Expo command-line build and auto-submit | React Native | Not stated | Yes |
| Glide, Lovable, Base44 | Do not publish native App Store apps | Web apps | Not applicable | No |
Prices are from each vendor's own pricing page, checked on October 25, 2026; links are in the References. Apple's Developer Program costs 99 USD a year whichever builder you use, and Google Play charges 25 USD once.
What "Publishes to the App Store" Really Means
Builders use the same phrase for very different amounts of work. A full App Store release involves signing, building, uploading, completing the listing, declaring privacy details and submitting a version for review. Here is how far each kind of builder goes:
| Publishing level (Superapp is Level 1) | What the builder does | What you still do | Builders at this level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1: Full submission | Builds, signs, uploads, prepares metadata, screenshots and privacy details, submits | Connect your Apple account; answer Apple's questions | Superapp |
| Level 2: Build and upload | Builds, signs and uploads; often guides you through submission | Complete the listing and submit in App Store Connect, sometimes supply signing files | Adalo, Bubble, FlutterFlow, Thunkable, GoodBarber, Appy Pie, BuildFire |
| Level 3: Code-first tooling | Generates code; build and upload run through Expo, via an in-app flow (Replit) or command-line tools (Bolt) | Complete the listing and submit; with Bolt, run the build commands | Replit, Bolt |
| Level 4: No native publishing | Builds a web app | Wrap it yourself or stay on the web | Glide, Lovable, Base44 |
Level 2 builders differ among themselves: some ask for an App Store Connect API key, others for certificates and provisioning profiles, others for an app-specific password. The profiles below say exactly what each one asks for.
What Apple Requires, Whichever Builder You Use
| Requirement (the same for Superapp and every builder) | Detail |
|---|---|
| Apple Developer Program | 99 USD per membership year; your apps stop being available for download if it lapses |
| Your own account | Guideline 4.2.6 rejects apps from app generation services unless "submitted directly by the provider of the app's content" |
| Current toolchain | Uploads must be built with Xcode 26 or later since April 28, 2026; builders handle this for you |
| Real app features | Guideline 4.2 asks apps to "elevate it beyond a repackaged website" |
| Privacy policy | Required for all apps |
| Account deletion | Required in the app if users can create accounts |
| Demo account | Required for review if the app has a login |
| Review | Apple typically reviews at least 50% of submissions in under 24 hours and 90% in under 48 hours |
For the full cost of publishing, see our guide to App Store publishing cost; for the technical side of signing and uploads, see Apple App Store deployment.
The App Store Builders, One by One
1. Superapp: full App Store submission for native Apple apps
Publishing level: 1, full submission.
Superapp turns "a plain-English description into a real native iPhone, iPad, Watch, and Mac app" and "generates real, production-ready Swift as a standard Xcode project you own and can export anytime." On the web version you type your idea with nothing to install, and builds run in the cloud, so you do not need a Mac.
How publishing works. Superapp's docs describe opening Publish, signing in with your Apple developer account, completing verification and selecting the team that should own the app; Superapp then creates the app record. It prepares "the build, metadata, screenshots, privacy declarations, ASO, and submission," which it describes as "roughly two clicks," and its FAQ says it "takes the app through App Store review, with hands-on help from the team if needed." Superapp says its native apps have "a rejection rate close to zero," and notes that Apple's Guideline 4.2 "targets thin web wrappers."
| What you set up (Superapp) | What Superapp handles |
|---|---|
| Apple Developer account, 99 USD a year | App record creation |
| Signing in and selecting your team | Build, signing and upload |
| Reviewing the app and its listing | Metadata, screenshots, privacy declarations, App Store optimization |
| Answering any questions from Apple | Submission for review |
Plans: free credits to start in most countries; Pro $25 a month with 50 credits, 240 preview minutes and automated App Store publishing; Business $50 a month with 110 credits; Max $100 a month with 230 credits plus marketing tools including Apple Ads, App Store optimization and UGC creators. About one credit generates one screen.
Also included: Superapp Cloud for authentication, database and storage, or your own Supabase; a landing page for the app from the same project; code you "can export anytime" as a standard Xcode project.
Limits: Apple platforms only, no Android.
Year one (iOS): about $399 including Apple's fee.
2. Thunkable: cross-platform publishing on Builder
Publishing level: 2, build and upload from the platform.
Thunkable says you can "Publish your native mobile app to Apple's App Store and Google Play directly from the Thunkable platform," and build "with simple prompts using our AI Builder." Its App Store guide asks for a distribution certificate (.cer), a provisioning profile (.mobileprovision) and an app-specific password, and requires an explicit bundle ID. Its docs say "The published Apps page is only available to paid plans (builder and advanced)."
| Thunkable plan (for comparison, Superapp Pro is $25 a month) | Monthly | Annual, per month | Live published apps |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accelerator | $19 | $18 | None listed |
| Builder | $59 | $37 | 1 |
| Advanced | $189 | $99 | Unlimited |
Watch out: Thunkable's pricing FAQ says that if your subscription expires, "any published apps will become unavailable for your end users."
Year one (iOS): about $543 on annual Builder. Both stores: about $568.
3. FlutterFlow: one-click deployment with your API key
Publishing level: 2, build and upload; you finish the listing.
FlutterFlow's Basic plan at $39 a month includes "Code Download," "APK Download" and "One-Click App Store Deployment." Its deployment guide has you create a bundle ID, add the app in App Store Connect, paste the app's Apple ID into FlutterFlow, generate a Team API key with the App Manager role, add the Issuer ID and Key ID, click Deploy To App Store, and then submit for review in App Store Connect after adding assets and metadata. FlutterFlow auto-increments the build number on each deploy.
| FlutterFlow plan (for comparison, Superapp Pro is $25 a month) | Price | Publishing-related features |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Store deployment not listed |
| Basic | $39 a month | One-click App Store deployment, code download |
| Growth | $80 first seat, $55 second | Basic plus GitHub integration |
| Business | $150 first seat, $85 seats 2 to 5 | Team features |
Watch out: no database is included; connect Firebase or Supabase.
Year one (iOS): about $567 on Basic. Both stores: about $592.
4. Bubble: native mobile publishing from the editor
Publishing level: 2, build and upload from the editor.
Bubble says it builds "true native apps on React Native, not web pages in a wrapper," and you can "Submit your app to the Apple App or Google Play Store right from Bubble, no Xcode or Android Studio required." Bubble's support article on iOS publishing explains that Bubble "will automatically deliver your build to App Store Connect," where you add the metadata and submit for review, and Bubble's support center describes mobile as still in beta. Bubble's support article says "To publish to the App Store and Google Play Store, you need a Mobile or Web & Mobile plan."
| Bubble plan (for comparison, Superapp Pro is $25 a month) | Annual, per month | Monthly | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter Mobile | $42 | $49 | iOS and Android |
| Starter Web and Mobile | $59 | $69 | Web, iOS and Android |
| Growth Web and Mobile | $209 | $249 | Higher capacity |
Starter's build allotment is 10 for the first three months, then 5, with 3 live app versions.
Watch out: workload unit overages; no code export.
Year one (iOS): about $603 on annual Starter Mobile. Both stores: about $628.
5. GoodBarber: native content and commerce apps on Premium
Publishing level: 2.
GoodBarber says its apps are "compiled in Swift and Kotlin, published on the App Store and Google Play, from the Premium plan." Its Standard plans are web only.
| GoodBarber content plan (for comparison, Superapp Pro is $25 a month) | Monthly | Yearly, per month | Native iOS and Android |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $36 | $30 | No, web only |
| Premium | $70 | $55 | Yes |
| Pro | $135 | $105 | Yes |
For eCommerce apps, iOS publishing also needs Premium, from $62 a month billed yearly.
Year one (iOS): about $759 on yearly Content Premium. Both stores: about $784.
6. Adalo: guided publishing for iOS, Android and web
Publishing level: 2, guided workflow.
Adalo's publishing page says you "publish real native iOS (IPA) and Android (AAB) builds, not web wrappers," and says "Adalo's guided workflow walks you through App Store Connect and Google Play Console." Its FAQ says to "upgrade to the Builder plan at $65/month when you're ready to publish a native iOS and Android app." Its help center walks through publishing with an app-specific password.
| Adalo plan (for comparison, Superapp Pro is $25 a month) | Monthly | Yearly | Published apps |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Not applicable | None |
| Builder | $65 | $624 | 2, to the stores and web |
| Business | $200 | $1,920 | 5 |
Year one (iOS): about $723 on yearly Builder. Both stores: about $748.
7. Appy Pie: iOS on the Platinum plan
Publishing level: 2.
Appy Pie's Basic ($16) and Gold ($36) plans are Android only. Its "Platinum plan supports all the platforms Android and Apple," at $60 a month per app.
Watch out: per-app pricing multiplies with each app; customization is limited outside templates.
Year one (iOS and Android): about $819, plus 25 USD for Google Play.
8. BuildFire: managed publishing at a higher price
Publishing level: 2.
BuildFire's Standard plan at $165 a month includes "Publish on any platform (iOS, Android, tablet, PWA)." Growth is $315 and Scale is $440 a month, with 20% off annually.
Year one (iOS): about $2,079 on monthly Standard.
9. Replit: guided App Store flow for React Native apps
Publishing level: 3, developer tooling with a guided flow.
Replit's docs say "Expo is what Agent uses to build your mobile app on Replit." Publishing runs from "Start publishing to the App Store" to "Launch to App Store," sends the build to TestFlight and App Store Connect, and "can take up to 45 minutes." You need your own Apple Developer membership, and the docs do not state which Replit plan is required.
Best for: technical founders who will maintain the code.
10. Bolt: Expo builds from the command line
Publishing level: 3.
Bolt's help center says you can "Build iOS and Android apps from a prompt." Its Expo guide requires "Node.js LTS and Git installed," an Expo account and an Apple Developer account, then an EAS build with automatic submission to TestFlight and App Store Connect. Bolt Cloud gives projects "a database, authentication, file storage, and hosting."
Best for: developers comfortable with command-line tools.
Builders That Do Not Publish Native App Store Apps
| Builder (Superapp generates native Swift instead) | What it builds | What its own docs say |
|---|---|---|
| Glide | Web apps from spreadsheets | "publishing directly to the App Store or Google Play is not supported" |
| Lovable | Web apps | "it does not generate React Native projects"; suggests a PWA or wrapping the URL with a tool such as Capacitor outside Lovable |
| Base44 | Web apps that install to the home screen | Lets you "prepare your app for the Apple App Store and Google Play" from the editor on Builder plans and up, but does not describe native app generation |
About wrappers
A wrapper puts a website inside a native shell so it can be listed in the stores. It can work, but Apple's Guideline 4.2 asks apps to offer "features, content, and UI that elevate it beyond a repackaged website," and wrappers are the most common target of that rule. Note that Natively, which Adalo's comparison lists as a wrapper, now redirects to Newly, which says its apps "compile to real iOS and Android native code, not webviews."
What It Costs to Publish With Each Builder
Year one, iOS only
| Builder (cheapest plan that publishes; Superapp listed first) | Plan cost, year one | Apple fee | Year-one total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Superapp Pro | $300 | 99 USD | About $399 |
| Thunkable Builder, annual | $444 | 99 USD | About $543 |
| FlutterFlow Basic | $468 | 99 USD | About $567 |
| Bubble Starter Mobile, annual | $504 | 99 USD | About $603 |
| Adalo Builder, yearly | $624 | 99 USD | About $723 |
| GoodBarber Content Premium, yearly | $660 | 99 USD | About $759 |
| Appy Pie Platinum | $720 | 99 USD | About $819 |
| BuildFire Standard, monthly | $1,980 | 99 USD | About $2,079 |
Year one, App Store and Google Play
| Builder (for comparison, Superapp publishes to the App Store only) | Year-one total with 99 USD Apple and 25 USD Google |
|---|---|
| Thunkable Builder, annual | About $568 |
| FlutterFlow Basic | About $592 |
| Bubble Starter Mobile, annual | About $628 |
| Adalo Builder, yearly | About $748 |
| GoodBarber Content Premium, yearly | About $784 |
| Appy Pie Platinum | About $844 |
| BuildFire Standard, monthly | About $2,104 |
Three years, iOS only
| Builder (Superapp listed first) | Three-year total including Apple's fee |
|---|---|
| Superapp Pro | About $1,197 |
| Thunkable Builder, annual | About $1,629 |
| FlutterFlow Basic | About $1,701 |
| Bubble Starter Mobile, annual | About $1,809 |
| Adalo Builder, yearly | About $2,169 |
| GoodBarber Content Premium, yearly | About $2,277 |
| Appy Pie Platinum | About $2,457 |
| BuildFire Standard, monthly | About $6,237 |
Totals exclude extra credits, usage overages, backend upgrades and paid marketing. Replit and Bolt are not included because their docs do not state which plan is needed to publish. For a wider view of costs, see our guide to low-cost mobile app development.
Budget-Friendly App Makers That Publish Directly to the App Store
This is the question most people ask: which affordable builder will actually get an app into the App Store? Ranked by year-one cost for an iPhone app on the cheapest plan that publishes:
- Superapp, about $399. Native Swift, with the listing and submission handled. Apple platforms only.
- Thunkable, about $543. One live app on annual Builder, iOS and Android.
- FlutterFlow, about $567. Flutter code and one-click deployment; bring your own backend.
- Bubble, about $603. React Native mobile apps on annual Starter Mobile; web on a higher plan.
- Adalo, about $723. Native builds for iOS and Android with a built-in database.
- GoodBarber, about $759. Native content and catalog apps on Premium.
- Appy Pie, about $819. Template apps, priced per app.
- BuildFire, about $2,079. Managed platform at a higher price.
| Budget question (Superapp is the lowest-cost full-submission option) | Answer |
|---|---|
| Cheapest way to get a native iPhone app published without coding | Superapp Pro plus Apple's 99 USD |
| Cheapest way to publish to both stores without coding | Thunkable Builder on annual billing, if one live app is enough |
| Cheapest with code export | Superapp for native Swift; FlutterFlow for Flutter |
| Cheapest with a built-in database for both stores | Bubble Starter Mobile or Adalo Builder |
Claims in Adalo's Comparison, Checked
Adalo's page on this topic says its prices are "as of March 2026." Some of its claims do not match the vendors' pages today:
| Claim on Adalo's page (Superapp checked these on October 25, 2026) | What the vendor's page shows |
|---|---|
| Thunkable costs $189 a month to publish | Thunkable's Builder plan publishes one live app at $37 a month annually or $59 monthly; $189 is Advanced monthly, for unlimited apps |
| FlutterFlow costs $80 a month per seat | FlutterFlow's Basic plan at $39 a month includes one-click App Store deployment |
| Bubble needs a third-party wrapper such as Natively | Bubble builds React Native apps and uploads them to App Store Connect from its own editor |
| Natively is a WebView wrapper at $49 a month | natively.dev now redirects to Newly, which says its apps are "real iOS and Android native code, not webviews" |
| Five platforms can get your app into the stores | At least ten builders publish native or cross-platform apps, including Superapp, Bubble, GoodBarber, BuildFire, Replit and Bolt |
| Adalo's year one is about $904 | That uses monthly billing; Adalo's yearly Builder plan is $624, about $748 with both store fees |
Native, Cross-Platform or Wrapper: What Each Builder Produces
| Output (Superapp produces native Swift) | Builders | What it means on iOS |
|---|---|---|
| Native Swift and SwiftUI | Superapp | Apple's own frameworks; Apple Watch and Mac supported |
| Native, compiled per platform | GoodBarber (Swift and Kotlin), Adalo (IPA and AAB builds) | Store-ready native packages |
| React Native | Bubble, Replit, Bolt | Native UI components driven by JavaScript |
| Flutter | FlutterFlow | Flutter's engine compiled into the app |
| Builder platform apps | Thunkable, Appy Pie, BuildFire | Cross-platform apps from the builder's own system |
| Web app or wrapper | Glide, Lovable, Base44 | Not a native App Store app; wrappers risk Guideline 4.2 |
Who Does What: The Publishing Workflow by Builder
| Step (Superapp handles every step after you connect your account) | Superapp | FlutterFlow | Thunkable | Adalo | Bubble | Replit and Bolt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connect Apple account | Sign in and select team | Team API key, Issuer ID, Key ID | Certificate, profile, app-specific password | App-specific password | API key with Issuer ID, Key ID and .p8 file | Replit's in-app flow, or Apple account in Expo for Bolt |
| Create app record | Superapp | You | You | Guided | You | Set up by Replit's flow or Expo's auto-submit |
| Build and sign | Superapp | FlutterFlow | Thunkable | Adalo | Bubble | Expo EAS |
| Upload | Superapp | FlutterFlow | Thunkable | Adalo | Bubble | Expo EAS |
| Metadata and screenshots | Superapp prepares | You, in App Store Connect | You | Guided | You, in App Store Connect | You |
| Privacy details | Superapp prepares | You | You | Guided | You | You |
| Submit for review | Superapp | You | You, in App Store Connect | Guided | You, in App Store Connect | You |
Before You Publish With Any Builder
| Item (needed for Superapp apps and every other builder's apps) | Why |
|---|---|
| Apple Developer account | Required to publish; 99 USD a year |
| D-U-N-S number, if publishing as a company | Organization accounts need one; it can take several business days |
| Privacy policy at a public URL | Required for all apps |
| Support URL | Shown on the listing |
| Demo account | Required if the app has a login |
| Account deletion in the app | Required if users can sign up |
| App icon, name, subtitle, description, keywords | Required listing fields |
| Screenshots from the real app | At least one per required device size |
| Age rating answers | Required for every app |
| Google Play account, if publishing on Android | 25 USD once; new personal accounts must test with 12 testers for 14 days first |
Why Builder-Made Apps Get Rejected
Apple reviewed 9,100,620 submissions in 2025 and rejected 2,093,244, according to its Transparency Report. The most common reasons apply to builder-made apps as much as hand-coded ones:
| Problem (Superapp apps face the same review) | Guideline | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Crashes or broken screens | 2.1 | Test on a real device and in TestFlight |
| Reviewer cannot log in | 2.1(a) | Provide a working demo account |
| App is mainly a website | 4.2 | Use a builder that produces native or cross-platform screens |
| App looks like a generic template | 4.2.6 and 4.3 | Add your own content and submit under your own account |
| No account deletion | 5.1.1(v) | Add in-app deletion |
| Inaccurate listing | 2.3 | Describe and show only what the app does |
Publishing to Google Play Too
Cross-platform builders also publish to Google Play. Google charges a one-time 25 USD registration fee, and new personal developer accounts must run a closed test with "a minimum of 12 testers who have been opted in continuously for at least 14 days" before publishing to production, per Google's testing requirements. Plan for that time if Android launch day matters.
After Publishing: Updates, Renewals and Leaving
| After-launch question (Superapp listed first) | Superapp | Thunkable | Bubble | FlutterFlow | Adalo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| How updates ship | New build submitted from the same project | Republished from the platform | New builds; Bubble says most updates can go over the air without resubmitting | Redeploy; build number auto-increments | Republished through the workflow |
| What if you stop paying | Your exported Xcode project stays yours | Published apps become unavailable, per its FAQ | A paid plan is needed for a live app | Your downloaded Flutter code stays yours | Check Adalo's terms |
| Code you can take | Xcode project | Not listed | None | Flutter code | A sample on Builder, full viewing on Business |
Whatever the builder, Apple's membership must stay active: Apple says your apps will no longer be available for download if it lapses.
Worked Publishing Scenarios
A café's iPhone ordering app
| Step (built with Superapp) | What happens | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Build | The owner describes the menu, cart and pickup time screens | Included in Pro |
| Backend | Superapp Cloud stores orders | Included |
| Payments | Food is paid through the café's own payment processor, so Apple takes no store commission | Processor fees only |
| Publishing | Superapp prepares the listing and submits | Included |
| Apple account | Individual or organization | 99 USD a year |
| Year one | About $399 |
A salon booking app on iPhone and Android
| Step (for comparison, Superapp covers the iPhone app only) | What happens | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Build | A cross-platform builder such as Thunkable or Adalo | $444 to $624 a year on annual billing |
| Apple and Google accounts | 99 USD a year plus 25 USD once | 124 USD in year one |
| Google testing | New personal accounts run a 14-day test with 12 testers | Time, not money |
| Publishing | Builder uploads; listing completed in App Store Connect and Play Console or through a guided workflow | Included |
| Year one | About $568 to $748 |
A startup MVP that developers will take over
| Step (Superapp exports a standard Xcode project for native iOS) | What happens | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Build | Superapp for a native iPhone MVP, or FlutterFlow for a Flutter app on both stores | $25 or $39 a month |
| Code | Exported as an Xcode project or Flutter code | Included |
| Publishing | Superapp submits; FlutterFlow deploys with your API key and you submit | Included |
| Handover | Developers continue from the exported code | Developer time |
The Best App Store Builder for Each Situation
| Situation | Best pick |
|---|---|
| Native iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch or Mac app with publishing handled (Superapp) | Superapp |
| Lowest-cost full submission to the App Store | Superapp |
| iPhone and Android from one project, simple app | Thunkable |
| iPhone and Android with a built-in database | Adalo or Bubble |
| Web app plus iOS and Android apps on one backend | Bubble |
| Flutter code for developers | FlutterFlow |
| News, content or catalog app on both stores | GoodBarber |
| Template app for a local business on both stores | Appy Pie |
| Managed platform with support, on both stores | BuildFire |
| React Native code you will maintain | Replit or Bolt |
| Internal tool, no store needed | A web app builder such as Glide |
Myths and Facts About App Store Builders
| Myth | Fact |
|---|---|
| Only a few builders can publish to the App Store (Superapp and at least nine others do) | At least ten builders publish native or cross-platform apps |
| "Publishes to the App Store" means the builder does everything | Most builders upload the build; few prepare the listing and submit |
| You need a Mac to publish with a builder | Cloud builders compile and upload for you |
| Builder apps get rejected more | Apple reviews the app, not the tool; wrappers are the risky route |
| The cheapest plan publishes | The entry plan often cannot publish; check the publishing plan |
| You can skip Apple's fee with a builder | Every route needs your own 99 USD a year Apple account |
Glossary
| Term | Meaning |
|---|---|
| App Store builder (Superapp is one) | A tool that builds an app and publishes it to the App Store |
| Publishing plan | The cheapest plan of a builder that can publish to the stores |
| App Store Connect | Apple's portal for app records, builds, listings and review |
| App-specific password | A password Apple generates for a third-party tool to access your account |
| App Store Connect API key | A private key, with Key ID and Issuer ID, that lets tools upload builds |
| Provisioning profile | A file linking your app ID and signing certificate |
| IPA and AAB | The iOS and Android app packages uploaded to the stores |
| Wrapper | A native shell that displays a website |
| Expo EAS | Cloud build and submit services for React Native apps |
How to Publish Your First App With an App Store Builder
- Decide which stores you need. If your customers mostly use iPhones, an Apple-only builder with native output keeps things simple; if you need Android on day one, choose a cross-platform builder.
- Check the publishing plan before building. Find the cheapest plan that publishes to the App Store, not the entry plan, and note any limit on live apps.
- Enroll in the Apple Developer Program. Pay 99 USD a year; companies need a free D-U-N-S number first, which can take several business days.
- Build and test the app. Use the builder's preview, then test on a real iPhone, including every login path.
- Prepare what Apple asks for. Publish a privacy policy and support page, create a demo account if the app has a login, and add in-app account deletion if users can sign up.
- Connect the builder to your Apple account. Depending on the builder this means signing in and choosing a team, creating an App Store Connect API key, uploading signing files, or creating an app-specific password.
- Build and upload. Let the builder compile, sign and upload the app; with Expo-based tools, run the build and submit commands.
- Complete the listing. Add the name, subtitle, description, keywords, screenshots, App Privacy details and age rating, unless your builder prepares them.
- Test with TestFlight. Install the uploaded build on real devices before you submit.
- Submit for review and release. Choose automatic release so the app goes live as soon as Apple approves it.
Head-to-Head: The Three Most-Compared App Store Builders
| Factor | Superapp | Adalo | Thunkable |
|---|---|---|---|
| iOS output | Native Swift and SwiftUI | Native builds from a cross-platform project | Cross-platform |
| Publishing level | Full submission, listing included | Guided workflow | Publishes from the platform with your signing files |
| Apple account connection | Sign in and select team | App-specific password | Certificate, profile and app-specific password |
| Android | No | Yes | Yes |
| Apple Watch and Mac | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Backend | Superapp Cloud or Supabase | Built-in database | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Live apps on the publishing plan | No app limit stated | 2 on Builder | 1 on Builder |
| Year one, iOS | About $399 | About $723 | About $543 |
| Code | Exportable Xcode project | A sample on Builder | Not listed |
Pick Superapp for a native Apple app with the least publishing work. Pick Adalo or Thunkable if Android from the same project is required.
App Store Builders for iPad, Apple Watch and Mac
| Platform (Superapp builds all four from one project) | What Apple requires | Builders that document it |
|---|---|---|
| iPad | iPad 13-inch screenshots if the app runs on iPad | Superapp; others through their iOS apps |
| Apple Watch | A watchOS app, dependent on the iPhone app or independent | Superapp |
| Mac | The App Sandbox capability for Mac App Store apps | Superapp |
| Apple Vision Pro | iPhone and iPad apps are available on Vision Pro unless you change their availability | Through compatible iPhone and iPad apps |
What Changed for App Store Builders in 2026
| Change (applies to Superapp and every builder) | What it means |
|---|---|
| Xcode 26 required for uploads since April 28, 2026 | Builders updated their build systems; old toolchains are rejected |
| Adalo launched its Ada AI in March 2026; its pricing page now lists publishing on the $65 Builder plan | Articles quoting a $36 Adalo plan no longer match Adalo's pricing page |
| Bubble's native React Native mobile apps, still in beta | Bubble no longer needs a third-party wrapper for the stores |
| Natively now redirects to Newly | Older wrapper descriptions no longer match its site |
| Apple enforced Guideline 2.5.2 on some vibe-coding builder apps | Reports describe blocked updates to builder apps that run generated code on the iPhone |
Questions to Ask Before Choosing an App Store Builder
| Question (applies to Superapp and every builder) | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Which plan publishes, and what does it cost per year? | The entry plan often cannot publish |
| Does the builder prepare the listing and submit, or only upload? | Listings are where non-coders get stuck |
| What do I have to create in App Store Connect myself? | API keys, certificates or passwords take time |
| How many live apps does the plan allow? | Some plans allow one |
| Does it publish native, cross-platform or web output? | Wrappers risk Guideline 4.2 |
| Can I export the code? | Your exit route |
| What happens to my live app if I cancel? | Some builders take apps offline |
| Does it support the Apple devices I need? | iPad, Watch and Mac support varies |
Where Superapp Fits
As a disclosure, Superapp is our product, so weigh this accordingly. Superapp is the App Store builder in this comparison that takes publishing the furthest: you sign in with your Apple developer account and select the team, and Superapp creates the app record, builds, signs and uploads the app, prepares the metadata, screenshots and privacy declarations, and submits it for review. It generates native Swift for iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Mac, includes a backend, and lets you export the code as a standard Xcode project. Pro costs $25 a month plus Apple's 99 USD a year. It does not publish Android apps; if you need Google Play from the same project, a cross-platform builder is the better fit.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which app builders publish directly to the App Store?
Superapp, Thunkable, FlutterFlow, Bubble, GoodBarber, Adalo, Appy Pie and BuildFire publish from their own tools; Replit and Bolt publish through Expo.
What is the cheapest app builder that publishes to the App Store?
Among builders that prepare and submit the App Store listing for you, Superapp Pro at $25 a month, about $399 in year one including Apple's fee.
What is the cheapest way to publish to both the App Store and Google Play?
Thunkable's Builder plan on annual billing, about $568 in year one with both store fees, if one live app is enough.
Which builder does the most of the publishing work?
Superapp prepares the build, metadata, screenshots and privacy declarations and submits the app. Most other builders upload the build and leave the listing to you or a guided workflow.
Does Thunkable really cost $189 a month to publish?
No. Builder publishes one live app at $37 a month billed annually or $59 monthly. $189 a month is Advanced on monthly billing, for unlimited apps.
Does FlutterFlow publish to the App Store?
Yes. Basic at $39 a month includes one-click App Store deployment using an App Store Connect API key you create.
Does Bubble need a wrapper to reach the App Store?
No. Bubble builds React Native apps and uploads them to App Store Connect from its editor, on Mobile or Web and Mobile plans; you then submit for review in App Store Connect.
Is Natively a wrapper?
natively.dev now redirects to Newly, which says its apps compile to real iOS and Android native code, not webviews.
Can Glide publish to the App Store?
No. Glide's help center says publishing directly to the App Store or Google Play is not supported.
Can Lovable publish to the App Store?
Lovable builds web apps and does not generate React Native projects. It suggests a PWA or wrapping the URL with a tool such as Capacitor.
Do I need a Mac to publish with an app builder?
No, with cloud builders. Bolt's Expo route needs Node.js and Git installed locally, and coding in Xcode needs a Mac.
Do I need my own Apple Developer account?
Yes, for every builder. It costs 99 USD a year, and Apple expects apps to be submitted by the content provider.
What does an app-specific password do?
It lets a tool such as Thunkable or Adalo access your Apple account for publishing without your main password.
What is an App Store Connect API key?
A private key with a Key ID and Issuer ID that lets tools such as FlutterFlow upload builds on your behalf.
Which builders publish native Swift apps?
Superapp generates native Swift and SwiftUI. GoodBarber says its apps are compiled in Swift and Kotlin.
Which builders let me export my code?
Superapp as an Xcode project and FlutterFlow as Flutter code; Replit and Bolt projects are code from the start. Bubble does not offer export.
How many apps can I publish on each plan?
Thunkable Builder allows 1 live app, Adalo Builder 2 and Business 5, and Appy Pie charges per app. Apple's membership covers unlimited apps.
What happens to my app if I cancel the builder?
It depends. Thunkable says published apps become unavailable. With Superapp or FlutterFlow you keep exported code.
How long does App Store review take for builder apps?
The same as any app: Apple typically reviews at least 50% of submissions in under 24 hours and 90% in under 48 hours.
Do builder apps get rejected more often?
Not because of the builder. Rejections come from crashes, missing demo accounts, privacy issues or apps that only wrap a website.
Which builder is best for a small business?
Superapp for a native iPhone app; Adalo or Bubble for iOS and Android with a built-in database; GoodBarber for content or catalog apps on both stores.
Which builder is best for an Apple Watch or Mac app?
Superapp builds Apple Watch and Mac apps from the same project as the iPhone app.
What do I need before publishing?
An Apple Developer account, a privacy policy URL, listing text, screenshots, an icon, age rating answers, and a demo account if the app has a login.
How long does Google Play take for a new account?
New personal accounts must run a closed test with at least 12 testers for 14 days before going to production.
Can I publish several apps on one Apple account?
Yes. One Apple Developer Program membership covers as many apps as you publish.
Is GoodBarber's cheapest plan enough for the App Store?
No. Standard is web only; native publishing starts on Premium.
Does Appy Pie publish to iOS on every plan?
No. Basic and Gold are Android only; iOS needs Platinum at $60 a month per app.
Is BuildFire worth the price?
It suits businesses that want a managed platform and can budget $165 a month or more; most first apps can publish for far less.
Can Replit publish without a Mac?
Yes. Replit's guided flow builds with Expo and sends the app to TestFlight and App Store Connect.
What is the difference between uploading and submitting?
Uploading sends a build to App Store Connect. Submitting attaches it to a version with a complete listing and sends it to App Review.
How do I publish my first app with a builder?
Pick a builder whose plan publishes, join the Apple Developer Program, build and test, prepare the privacy policy and listing, connect your Apple account, upload, test in TestFlight and submit for review.
Which App Store builder is easiest for non-coders?
Superapp, because you describe the app and it prepares the listing and submits. Thunkable and Adalo are visual options if you need Android too.
Do App Store builders create my App Store Connect listing?
Superapp prepares metadata, screenshots and privacy declarations. Most other builders upload the build and leave the listing to you or a guided workflow.
Can I switch builders after publishing?
Yes, if the new tool lets you use your existing bundle ID, so updates go to the same App Store record. Without code export you rebuild the app itself.
What changed with Adalo's pricing in 2026?
Adalo's pricing page now lists Builder at $65 a month or $624 a year for publishing, and Business at $200 a month or $1,920 a year.
Which builders publish Apple Watch apps?
Superapp builds Apple Watch apps from the same project as the iPhone app. The other builders here do not document Apple Watch support.
Do builders handle TestFlight?
Builders that upload to App Store Connect make builds available in TestFlight, where you can install them on real devices before review.
Can a builder publish under my company name?
Yes, if your Apple Developer account is an organization account, which needs a free D-U-N-S number.
References
- Apple Developer Program
- Apple: Membership renewal
- Apple: App Review Guidelines
- Apple: App Review
- Apple: Upcoming requirements
- Apple: 2025 App Store Transparency Report
- Apple: D-U-N-S Number
- Google Play: Testing requirements for new personal accounts
- Google Play: Registration fee
- Superapp: Home
- Superapp: Features
- Superapp: FAQ
- Superapp: Pricing
- Superapp: Apple Developer account docs
- Thunkable
- Thunkable: Pricing
- Thunkable: Publish to the App Store
- Thunkable: Publishing docs
- FlutterFlow: Pricing
- FlutterFlow: Apple App Store deployment
- Bubble: Mobile
- Bubble: Pricing and plans
- GoodBarber: Content app pricing
- GoodBarber: iOS publishing for shop apps
- Adalo: Pricing
- Adalo: App Store publishing
- Adalo: Publishing to the Apple App Store
- Adalo: Best app builders for App Store publishing
- Appy Pie: Pricing
- BuildFire: Pricing
- Replit: Building mobile apps
- Replit: Publish a mobile app to iOS
- Bolt: Integrations
- Bolt: Expo integration
- Glide: Is Glide able to push to the App Store?
- Lovable: FAQ
- Base44: Mobile experience
- Newly
- Superapp: App Store publishing cost
- Superapp: Apple App Store deployment
- Superapp: Low-cost mobile app development
- Superapp: Best AI iOS app builder 2026
- Apple: App Sandbox
- Apple: Creating independent watchOS apps
- Apple: iPhone and iPad apps on Apple Vision Pro
- Apple: Screenshot specifications
- MacRumors: Apple blocks updates for vibe coding apps
- Adalo announcement via GlobeNewswire
- Bubble: Publishing to the iOS App Store
- Bubble: When will mobile be out of beta