Best App Makers for Business in 2026: 14 Ranked

A business-buyer's comparison of app makers, judged on ownership, renewal risk and what survives if you cancel.

Best App Makers for Business in 2026: 14 Ranked

Last updated: September 2026

The Short Answer

Superapp generates native Swift code your business owns and can export, from $25 a month, Apple platforms only, and as a disclosure it is our product, so weigh this accordingly. Every other tool on this page keeps the source, which means the app is something you rent rather than something you own.

That distinction sounds academic until you cancel. Then it becomes the only thing that matters, and the vendors are unusually candid about it in their own documentation.

Quick answer: Superapp from $25 a month is the only tool here that gives you exportable native source. For a done-for-you build, GoodBarber at $55 a month billed yearly produces genuine Swift and Kotlin and states plainly that you will not own the code. BuildFire at $165 a month is the enterprise-priced option. Shoutem at $79 a month is honest that "if you cancel your service, your app will no longer function and will be removed from the App Store and Google Play." If you run a restaurant, salon or church, skip generic builders entirely and read the vertical SaaS section: Owner.com includes a branded app at no extra charge. And before you budget anything, check Apple's business gate, because it disqualifies sole traders operating under a trading name.

Tool What you get Own the code? Entry price
Superapp Native Swift, Apple platforms Yes, full export Pro $25/mo
Adalo Compiled IPA/AAB, React Native UI No Starter $36/mo annual
Thunkable Store binary, framework undocumented No Builder $37/mo yearly
AppMySite WordPress app or WebView wrapper No, and not even the signing key Starter $49/mo yearly
Shoutem React Native app, they submit it No Standard $79/mo quarterly
GoodBarber Swift and Kotlin native No, and they say so Premium $55/mo yearly
Appy Pie Claims Kotlin and Swift binaries No, they own the IP Basic $16/app/mo, iOS needs $60
Bubble React Native mobile No Starter $59/mo annual
Bizness Apps Native and PWA, reseller-first No Single App $99/mo
BuildFire Native container, JS feature plugins No Standard $165/mo
Glide Progressive web app, no app store No GlideOS Basic $25/mo
Softr Web app over your data No Basic $19/mo annual
Jotform Apps Installable web app, no app store No Included, Bronze $39/mo
Vertical SaaS Branded app inside industry software No Varies, see below

The Only Question That Matters: Rent or Own?

Most comparisons of business app makers rank on price and ease of use. Both are the wrong axis, because both describe the first month rather than the fifth year.

The question a business should ask is simpler. If you stop paying, what do you still have?

Every vendor on this page answers that question somewhere in its documentation, and the answers differ enormously. Two of them are admirably direct about it.

Shoutem puts it on its own pricing page:

"If you cancel your service, your app will no longer function and will be removed from the App Store and Google Play."

GoodBarber's version is stranger and in some ways worse, from its billing help:

"If your subscription ends, your app will not be removed from the stores, but it will be empty, since it won't be connected to any content."

The app survives as a hollow icon your customers can still download and open to nothing. GoodBarber adds that it is "completely erased a year after its deactivation."

That is what renting looks like. It is not a scandal, it is the business model, and it is fine as long as you chose it deliberately.

What Happens If You Stop Paying

The single most useful table on this page.

Tool What happens to your live app
Superapp You hold exported Swift, so the app is yours to maintain or hand to a developer
Shoutem "Your app will no longer function and will be removed from the App Store and Google Play"
GoodBarber Stays listed but "it will be empty"; erased a year after deactivation
Appy Pie App is "locked for editing and viewing purposes"; store listing outcome not documented
Bizness Apps "All of your Content will be deleted from the Service upon cancellation. This information cannot be recovered"
BuildFire Auto-renews; fees "non-refundable and not subject to credit or proration"; store outcome not documented
AppMySite Auto-renews; all fees non-refundable; will not release your Android signing key
Adalo, Bubble, Thunkable Publishing is tied to an active paid plan
Glide, Softr, Jotform No store listing exists to lose
Vertical SaaS The app is part of the software subscription, so it ends with it

AppMySite's clause is the hardest lock-in we found anywhere in this category. From its terms:

"AppMySite will not provide access to the app's JKS or similar file if you wish to migrate or make changes to your mobile app."

The JKS is your Android signing keystore. Without it you cannot ship an update to your own existing Google Play listing from anywhere else, ever. Your only route is a new listing, which means losing your installs, your ratings and your reviews.

The Apple Rule That Stops Most Small Businesses

Before comparing prices, check whether you can publish under your business name at all. This is the step almost every article in this category skips, and it catches sole traders late.

Apple's enrollment requirements for an organization state:

"Legal entity name and status. Your organization must be a legal entity that can enter into contracts with Apple. We do not accept DBAs, fictitious business names, trade names, or branches. Your organization's name will be displayed as the seller name of your apps on the App Store."

If you trade as "Riverside Coffee" but have never incorporated, Apple will not let you publish under that name. You enroll as an individual instead, and then, in Apple's words, "your personal legal name will be listed as the seller on the App Store."

Organization enrollment also requires a D-U-N-S Number, a free nine-digit business identifier from Dun and Bradstreet that Apple uses to verify "your organization's identity, legal entity status, and address." You also need a working website on a domain you control, with a work email at that domain, and Apple notes that "links to social media webpages or websites that contain minimal content" will not be accepted.

The cost is not the problem. The Apple Developer Program is $99 a year for an individual and $99 a year for a company, so incorporating does not raise the Apple bill. The cost is time: getting or correcting a D-U-N-S record takes days to weeks, and Apple warns that a name mismatch "will cause a delay in the approval of your enrollment."

Plan for this before you pick a builder, not after your app is ready to ship.

Tier 1: You Own the Code

Superapp

As a disclosure, Superapp is our product.

It generates native Swift and states that "you fully own the code and can export it anytime." It runs in a browser, so no Mac is needed, and it handles App Store submission: "Connect your Apple Developer account and Superapp prepares the build, metadata, screenshots, privacy declarations, ASO optimization, and submission flow for you." Note the wording, because it matters for Apple's guideline 4.2.6: the submission runs through your own developer account, not ours.

Pricing is a free tier, Pro at $25 a month for 50 credits, Business at $50 for 110, and Max at $100 for 230, with a $18 top-up for 30 extra credits.

For a business the argument is narrow and concrete: if you stop paying, you still have a Swift codebase any iOS developer can pick up. Nothing else on this page offers that.

The honest limits: Apple platforms only, so if your customers are largely on Android this is the wrong tool and GoodBarber or Adalo are better. It has no G2, Capterra or Trustpilot listing, while Appy Pie has over 5,800 reviews across two sites, and for a risk-averse business buyer that absence is a legitimate reason to choose someone else. And it is credit-metered, so budget for iteration rather than for the first generation.

Tier 2: Real Apps, Rented

These produce genuine App Store listings. You cannot take the source with you.

GoodBarber

The most technically honest vendor in this comparison. Its technology page claims real compiled native, "Swift for iOS" and "Kotlin for Android," and it generates the IPA and APK for you while you publish from your own account. Its agency guidance is unambiguous that "it is mandatory to use your clients' accounts to publish their apps," which keeps everyone clear of guideline 4.2.6.

On ownership it volunteers the thing most competitors bury, in its own blog:

"You own your app, your content, your users, your data, but you don't own the source code that runs it."

And then: "We don't, and we won't pretend otherwise. If code ownership is a non-negotiable requirement for your project, a no-code platform isn't the right tool." That deserves credit.

Watch the entry tier. The advertised $30 a month is PWA only. Native iOS and Android start at Premium, $55 a month billed yearly for content apps or $70 for ecommerce. Pro is $105 and Agency $215, with one-time licences at $4,600 and $12,000 covering ten years.

It rates 4.1 from 41 on G2 and 4.7 from 526 on Trustpilot. The critical reviews cluster on billing: one reviewer in November 2025 wrote "Canceled the service. They keep trying to charge my card," and another in October 2025 reported paying "almost 1,000 euro in 2020 for a lifetime license" and later being asked for 70 euro a month.

Pick it if: you want a done-for-you native build for both platforms and accept renting.
Skip it if: you expected native at the advertised entry price, or you need the code.

Shoutem

Genuinely React Native, confirmed on its developer page: "Build beautiful native apps with Shoutem and React Native in no time," backed by a public open-source UI toolkit. Shoutem's team submits for you, but you must hold the accounts, and their support docs are specific that "it is mandatory that you have your own iOS Developer organisation-based account," which loops straight back to the D-U-N-S requirement above.

DIY pricing billed quarterly: Android $49 a month, Standard $79, Professional $149. Done-for-you packages run $699 to $2,499, though the billing period for those is not stated.

Its cancellation language is the bluntest in the category and is quoted in full above. Reviews are thin: 3.8 from 19 on Capterra and 3.7 from 5 on G2, too small to carry much weight in either direction.

Pick it if: you want React Native under the hood and someone else handling submission.
Skip it if: losing the listing entirely on cancellation is unacceptable.

Appy Pie

The most-reviewed tool here by far, at 4.7 from 1,391 on G2 and 4.6 from 4,431 on Trustpilot.

It now claims "real Android (Kotlin) + iOS (Swift) binaries that pass App Store and Play Store review. No web wrapper." We could not find independent technical confirmation of that claim, and it sits against a long-standing reputation as an HTML5 builder, so treat it as vendor-asserted.

Pricing is per app: Basic $16 a month, Gold $36, Platinum $60. Basic and Gold publish to Google Play only. iOS requires Platinum. There are metered overages too, including $0.009 per app download beyond your tier's cap.

On ownership, its terms are explicit: "AP shall be the sole and exclusive owner of all the intellectual property developed by you or any developer on your behalf during a project."

The aggregate scores sit alongside a serious recent billing pattern that a business buyer should read before subscribing. A G2 reviewer rated it 0 out of 5 in July 2026: "We ended up cancelling, but even after confirmation of the cancellation, we were billed again." Two Trustpilot reviewers in June 2026 went further, alleging that refunds were made conditional on removing negative reviews. One wrote that they "received multiple emails requesting that I remove it, including an explicit offer to expedite my refund only if I took the review down first." Those are allegations by named reviewers on a public platform rather than established facts, and we report them as such, but two independent accounts in the same month is worth knowing.

Pick it if: Android is your priority and the price per app suits you.
Skip it if: you want iOS without jumping to the top tier, or the billing record concerns you.

BuildFire

The enterprise-priced option: Standard $165 a month, Growth $315, Scale $440, flat rate rather than per seat. An annual toggle exists but the discounted figures render client-side and we could not read them, so we are not quoting any.

Technically it is a proprietary native container with feature modules written in web technology. Its developer page says features are built "using Javascript, HTML and CSS" and that "we take care of publishing to iOS and Android, no server maintenance, no Cordova, Ionic, Titanium, or React Native setup."

There is a contradiction worth noticing between its marketing and its contract. The FAQ says "our team supports you through the process," while the terms say "customer is solely responsible for maintaining active Apple App Store and Google Play developer accounts." The terms are what binds, and they keep you on the right side of 4.2.6.

It rates 4.7 from 197 on G2 and 4.4 from 129 on Capterra. A one-star Capterra reviewer in October 2023 wrote: "We fell for their great sales pitch, now we are waiting for a refund for more than 2 years." Its terms confirm fees are "non-refundable and not subject to credit or proration."

Pick it if: you have the budget and want plugins and an account manager.
Skip it if: $165 a month for a rented app is hard to justify against the alternatives.

AppMySite

Priced at Free, Starter $49 a month billed yearly or $69 monthly, Pro $99 yearly, Premium $199 yearly, plus lifetime deals at $1,999 to $5,999.

On what it builds, its marketing says "native Android and iPhone apps," but its own documentation concedes "AppMySite helps create both native and web view apps," and its blog is blunter still: "In essence, you can create a WooCommerce or WordPress app that renders your mobile website in an app." The WordPress product is an API-driven shell; the website-to-app product is a WebView wrapper, and the second carries real guideline 4.2 exposure.

Its review record shows the most consistent price-increase pattern of any tool here. A G2 reviewer in February 2025 titled their review "PRICE HIKE OF 521%" and wrote "the new price is now $129/mo, which is an annual increase of $960." Another in December 2024: "Changed subscription from $49 to $390 a month. Did this without communication." It holds 4.2 from 426 on G2 and 4.1 from 46 on Capterra.

Combined with the signing-key clause above, this is the tool where leaving is hardest.

Pick it if: you have a WordPress or WooCommerce site and want an app quickly.
Skip it if: you may ever want to move, or price stability matters.

Bizness Apps

Priced at $99 a month for a single business app, or $250 a month billed annually for the unlimited reseller program. It claims native iOS, native Android and PWA output, but publishes no statement of the underlying runtime, so treat "native" as unverified.

The genuinely useful thing here is a number Bizness Apps publishes itself. Its pricing page advises agency partners:

"We recommend charging your small business clients a $2,500 one-time setup fee for building and designing the app, as well as a $100 monthly fee for maintaining the app."

The agency pays $250 a month for unlimited apps. The small business pays $2,500 up front plus $100 a month for one. That is the markup, disclosed by the platform, and it is worth knowing if an agency has quoted you those numbers.

It rates 4.7 from 422 on Capterra, though the company has blogged about running a review-solicitation campaign, and most reviewers are resellers rather than the small businesses they serve.

Pick it if: you are an agency building for clients.
Skip it if: you are the small business, in which case you are the one being marked up.

Adalo, Bubble and Thunkable

Covered in depth in our native app makers comparison; the short version for a business buyer.

Adalo is $36 a month billed annually for one published app, compiles a real IPA and AAB, and rates 3.5 from 25 on Capterra, the weakest score in this set. Its marketing says "not a React Native wrapper" while its developer docs say "our mobile builds use React Native."

Bubble is $59 a month billed annually and publishes React Native mobile apps, though no review on G2 or Capterra evaluates that capability yet because it is barely a year old.

Thunkable is $37 a month billed yearly for a single live app, does not document what it compiles to, and states that "if your subscription expires, any published apps will become unavailable for your end users."

Tier 3: No App Store, and That Is Often Fine

A large share of businesses asking for an app do not need an App Store listing at all. They need something staff or customers can open on a phone.

Glide builds apps over your spreadsheets and business data and is the highest-rated tool in this comparison at 4.7 from 820 G2 reviews. It states plainly that its apps "cannot be published in traditional app stores." GlideOS runs Free, $25, $50 and $125 a month.

Softr builds client portals and internal tools over Airtable and similar, from $19 a month billed annually, and rates 4.7 from 739 on G2. Mobile is a progressive web app.

Jotform Apps is the most honest about this and the cheapest: it is included with every Jotform plan including the free one. In its own words, "users can instantly download it to a mobile device, tablet, or desktop without needing to go through an app store." Distribution is by link, QR code or add-to-home-screen. Paid Jotform plans start at $39 a month for Bronze. Note the 4.7 scores on G2 and Capterra are for Jotform overall, not for Jotform Apps specifically.

If your app is a booking form, a loyalty card, a staff checklist or a customer portal, this tier does the job for a fraction of the cost and skips Apple's review entirely.

The Option Most Businesses Should Check First: Vertical SaaS

If you run a restaurant, a salon or a church, the generic builders above are probably the wrong category. Industry software often includes a branded app, already built for your use case, with your booking and payment systems wired in.

Owner.com for restaurants is $249 a month plus a 5% per-order fee, or $499 a month flat. Its FAQ is unusually clear: "Your branded mobile app comes included when you sign up. There is no additional charge to have a mobile app for your restaurant." One caveat worth stating: Owner does not confirm anywhere we could find that the app is published to the Apple App Store, who submits it, or whether you need a developer account, so ask before signing.

Vagaro for salons, spas and fitness is around $23.99 to $30 a month for the base product, but the branded app is a paid add-on rather than included. Its support docs put it at "$100 USD for development; $100/month after publishing; $10/month for each additional location," on top of the base subscription. Vagaro submits the app for you: "when you have approved your Branded App, we will submit it to the Apple Store or Google Play store." Real all-in cost is therefore around $130 a month.

Subsplash for churches and nonprofits publishes no pricing at all. Its giving product is $0 a month plus processing fees, and everything else routes to a sales call. Its apps cover mobile plus Apple TV, Roku, Fire TV and CarPlay, and an onboarding specialist handles "publishing it in the app stores."

The trade is the same as Tier 2, only more so: you are renting, and the app ends with the subscription. But you are also getting a product designed around your industry rather than a blank canvas, which for most small businesses is worth more than flexibility.

What Does a Custom Build Actually Cost?

Worth knowing, because it is the alternative every one of these tools is priced against.

Clutch's directory, which derives figures from verified client reviews rather than agency self-report, says "most app development projects reviewed on Clutch usually range between $10,000 and $49,999," with an average project cost of $90,780 and a typical timeline around 11 months.

GoodFirms' survey of 267 development companies puts a basic app at $15,000 to $40,000 over three to six months, mid-level at $40,000 to $120,000, and advanced at $100,000 to $250,000 and up. Note that GoodFirms is an agency directory and the respondents sell these projects, so read it directionally.

Hourly rates vary by an order of magnitude depending on where you look. Upwork publishes a median of $27 an hour across its marketplace, Clutch reports $25 to $49, and GoodFirms puts senior US iOS developers at $130 to $200 and up. Those are not contradictory so much as different markets.

Even Owner.com concedes the point when selling against custom builds, saying a restaurant app built from scratch would "cost you at least 5 figures and take months."

Three-Year Cost of Ownership

Our own arithmetic at September 2026 list prices, not a vendor figure. Thirty-six months of the cheapest tier that publishes to the App Store, plus three years of the Apple Developer Program at $99. Excludes credits, overages and per-order fees.

Tool Monthly 36 months Plus Apple Three-year total
Superapp $25 $900 $297 $1,197
Adalo $36 annual $1,296 $297 $1,593
Thunkable $37 yearly $1,332 $297 $1,629
AppMySite $49 yearly $1,764 $297 $2,061
GoodBarber $55 yearly $1,980 $297 $2,277
Bubble $59 annual $2,124 $297 $2,421
Appy Pie $60 Platinum $2,160 $297 $2,457
Shoutem $79 quarterly $2,844 $297 $3,141
Bizness Apps $99 $3,564 $297 $3,861
Vagaro ~$130 all in $4,680 + $100 setup $297 $5,077
BuildFire $165 $5,940 $297 $6,237
Owner.com $499 flat $17,964 Not stated $17,964
Custom agency build One-off $10,000 to $49,999 typical $297 Plus maintenance

Two readings. Every builder here is dramatically cheaper than an agency, which is the category's real selling point and it is a fair one. But the spread within the category is 5x, from $1,197 to $6,237, and the expensive end is not buying you ownership. It is buying you plugins and support on an app you still cannot take with you.

What Do Real Users Rate These Tools?

Scores with sample sizes, because a 3.7 from five reviews and a 4.7 from 4,431 are not the same claim.

Tool G2 Capterra Trustpilot
Superapp No listing No listing No listing
Appy Pie 4.7 (1,391) Not found 4.6 (4,431)
Glide 4.7 (820) No valid listing Not found
Softr 4.7 (739) 4.7 (64) Not found
Bizness Apps Not found 4.7 (422) Not found
AppMySite 4.2 (426) 4.1 (46) Blocked
BuildFire 4.7 (197) 4.4 (129) Blocked
Bubble 4.4 (166) 4.6 (334) ~1.7 (~130)
GoodBarber 4.1 (41) Not found 4.7 (526)
Thunkable 4.4 (40) 4.4 (8) 2.5 (6)
Adalo 4.4 (7) 3.5 (25) Not found
Shoutem 3.7 (5) 3.8 (19) Not found

One pattern runs through the critical reviews of almost every tool in Tier 2, and it is not about features. It is billing: charges after cancellation, unannounced price increases, and non-refundable terms. GoodBarber, Appy Pie, AppMySite and BuildFire all carry versions of the same complaint from named reviewers. Before subscribing, find the cancellation clause and read it, and prefer monthly to annual until you trust the vendor.

Which App Maker Should Your Business Choose?

If you are Choose Why
Want an iOS app your business actually owns Superapp Only exportable native source here, $25/mo
Need iOS and Android done for you GoodBarber Real Swift and Kotlin, honest about the trade
A restaurant Owner.com Branded app included at no extra charge
A salon, spa or gym Vagaro Branded app for $100 plus $100/mo on top of base
A church or nonprofit Subsplash Purpose-built, though pricing is sales-only
Building an internal staff tool Glide or Softr Best-rated here, no App Store needed
Needing a form, portal or booking app Jotform Apps Included with any plan, no store submission
An agency serving SMB clients Bizness Apps $250/mo unlimited, reseller-designed
Android-first on a tight budget Appy Pie $16/app/mo, but read the billing reviews
Already running WordPress or WooCommerce AppMySite Fastest path, hardest to leave
Needing something genuinely bespoke An agency $10,000 to $49,999 typical, around 11 months

Mistakes to Avoid When Choosing a Business App Maker

Comparing entry prices instead of three-year totals. The headline tiers on these sites are annual-billing prices for the cheapest plan that often does not include iOS publishing. Appy Pie's $16 a month is the clearest example: it covers Android, and adding iOS moves you to the $60 Platinum tier. Price the plan that does what you actually need, over three years, and add the $99 Apple fee.

Not reading the cancellation clause before subscribing. Four of the vendors here document what happens when you stop paying, and the answers range from "stays listed but empty" to "removed from the App Store and Google Play." A fifth will not hand over your Android signing key. None of that is hidden, but none of it is on the pricing page either.

Assuming you can move the app later. You usually cannot. The realistic migration path from any Tier 2 builder is a rebuild, plus a new store listing if you lost the signing key, which means starting over at zero installs and zero reviews.

Leaving the Apple business entity check until the end. If you are a sole trader with a trading name, Apple will publish under your personal legal name, not your business name. Find that out before you have paid for a year of anything.

Building a store app when a web app would do. If the app is for your own staff, or for a small set of known customers, Glide, Softr or Jotform Apps will get you there faster, cheaper and with no review process at all. The App Store is a distribution channel, not a badge of seriousness. We go through the split in more detail in our mobile app ROI guide for small business.

Paying a generic builder when vertical software already includes an app. Restaurants, salons, gyms and churches routinely pay a builder $80 a month for something their existing point-of-sale or booking platform ships as a feature. Check what you already pay for first.

Treating review counts as interchangeable. A 3.7 from five reviewers and a 4.6 from 4,431 are not comparable claims. Sort by sample size before you sort by score.

Ignoring who submits to the App Store. Some builders submit on your behalf through their own account, which can trip Apple's guideline 4.2.6 and leaves the listing under their control. Prefer tools that publish through your own Apple Developer account.

Business App Terms, Defined

Native app. Built with the platform's own tooling and languages, Swift for Apple and Kotlin for Android, and compiled to a binary the device runs directly. Full access to device hardware and the best performance. Our best native app makers comparison goes deeper on which tools actually produce this.

WebView wrapper. Your website, loaded inside an app-shaped shell. Ships to the App Store only if it adds enough of its own functionality, and is the most common reason a business app gets rejected.

Progressive web app, or PWA. A website that installs to the home screen and works offline. No App Store, no review process, no Apple fee. What Glide, Softr and Jotform Apps produce.

Source code export. The ability to download the actual project files and build them yourself, or hand them to any developer. Almost nothing in this category offers it.

Signing key, or keystore. The cryptographic file that proves an Android app update came from you. Lose access to it and you can never update that listing again, only publish a new one.

D-U-N-S Number. A free nine-digit identifier from Dun and Bradstreet that Apple requires to verify a company before organization enrollment.

DBA. Doing business as, a trading name registered without incorporating. Apple does not accept these for organization enrollment.

White label. A builder that lets an agency resell apps under its own brand. Bizness Apps is built around this model.

Vertical SaaS. Industry-specific software, such as a restaurant ordering platform or a salon booking system, that often includes a branded customer app as a feature.

Total cost of ownership. Subscription plus store fees plus overages plus the cost of rebuilding if you ever leave, over the period you actually expect to run the app.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best app maker for business in 2026?
It depends on whether you want to own the app or rent it. Superapp, our product, is the only tool here that exports native Swift source you keep, from $25 a month, on Apple platforms only. For a done-for-you build across both platforms, GoodBarber at $55 a month billed yearly produces genuine Swift and Kotlin. If you run a restaurant, salon, gym or church, your existing vertical software probably includes a branded app already.

How much does a business app cost to build?
Using a builder, roughly $1,200 to $6,200 over three years including Apple's $99 annual fee. Hiring an agency, Clutch reports $10,000 to $49,999 as the typical project range, with an average around $90,780 and a timeline near 11 months. Our small business app cost guide breaks the line items down.

Do I need a registered business to publish an app on the App Store?
Not to publish, but you do to publish under your business name. Apple's organization enrollment requires a legal entity and states "we do not accept DBAs, fictitious business names, trade names, or branches." Without one you enroll as an individual and your personal legal name appears as the seller.

Can a sole trader publish an app under a trading name?
No. Apple lists the seller name as your personal legal name for individual enrollments. To show a business name you need an incorporated entity and a D-U-N-S Number.

What happens to my business app if I stop paying?
It varies and it is worth checking before you buy. Shoutem states the app "will no longer function and will be removed from the App Store and Google Play." GoodBarber says it stays listed "but it will be empty," and is erased a year later. Bizness Apps deletes your content, and says it "cannot be recovered." Only an exported codebase survives cancellation intact.

Can I export the source code from a business app builder?
Almost never. Of the fourteen options here, only Superapp offers full native source export. GoodBarber is unusually candid about the alternative: "You own your app, your content, your users, your data, but you don't own the source code that runs it."

What is the cheapest app maker for a small business?
On sticker price, Softr at $19 a month and Appy Pie at $16 per app per month, but neither of those figures publishes an iOS app: Softr builds web apps and Appy Pie requires the $60 Platinum tier for iOS. On a genuine three-year iOS total, Superapp at $1,197 is the lowest here. We compare the budget end in detail in our cheapest app builders for small business ranking.

Do I need both an iOS and an Android app?
Only if your customers are on both, which for most consumer businesses they are. If your audience skews heavily to one platform, building one well beats building two badly. Our guide on iOS or Android first covers how to decide with your own data.

What does an Apple Developer account cost for a business?
$99 a year, the same as for an individual. Incorporating does not increase the Apple fee. The cost of the business route is administrative time, mainly obtaining or correcting a D-U-N-S record.

What is a D-U-N-S Number and do I need one?
A free nine-digit business identifier from Dun and Bradstreet. Apple requires it to verify your organization's identity, legal entity status and address before organization enrollment. You do not need one to enroll as an individual.

Is GoodBarber native?
Yes, and it is one of the few in this category where the claim holds up. GoodBarber states its apps are built with Swift for iOS and Kotlin for Android. It is equally clear that you do not get the source code.

Can Glide apps go in the App Store?
No. Glide produces progressive web apps that install to the home screen rather than store binaries. For internal tools and staff apps that is usually an advantage, since there is no review process and no Apple fee.

What is the difference between a native app and a progressive web app for a business?
A native app is downloaded from the App Store or Google Play, gets full hardware access, and can be found by people browsing the store. A PWA is a website that installs to the home screen, ships instantly, costs nothing in store fees, and cannot be discovered through store search. For customer acquisition the store matters. For internal tools it rarely does.

How long does it take to build a business app?
With a builder, days to weeks for the build plus Apple's review, which is typically one to three days. With an agency, Clutch's data points to around 11 months for a typical project.

Should a restaurant use a generic app builder?
Usually not. Owner.com states there is "no additional charge to have a mobile app for your restaurant" within its platform, which already handles online ordering and payments. A generic builder gives you an app and none of the operational plumbing. We rank the sector-specific options in our restaurant app builders guide.

Do app builders charge extra for App Store submission?
Some do, and some make it conditional on a higher tier. Vagaro charges "$100 USD for development" of a branded app plus "$100/month after publishing." Several builders submit through their own developer account rather than yours, which is worth knowing because it affects who controls the listing.

What is the three-year cost of a business app?
At September 2026 list prices, from $1,197 for Superapp to $6,237 for BuildFire, both including three years of the $99 Apple Developer Program. Vertical SaaS is higher because you are buying an operating platform, not just an app: Owner.com's flat $499 a month works out to $17,964.

Are white-label app resellers worth it?
For agencies, the economics are real. Bizness Apps charges $250 a month for unlimited apps and openly advises resellers to charge clients "$2,500 one-time setup fee... as well as a $100 monthly fee." For the business buying from that reseller, it is worth knowing what the underlying platform costs.

Can I move my app to another builder later?
Practically, no. Without source export you are rebuilding from scratch, and if the builder holds your Android signing key, as AppMySite's terms state it will, you cannot update your existing Google Play listing at all. You would need a new listing and would lose your installs and reviews.

Is Appy Pie good for business apps?
It has by far the largest review base here, 4.7 on G2 from 1,391 reviews and 4.6 on Trustpilot from 4,431, and the entry price is the lowest in the category. Two named Trustpilot reviewers in June 2026 alleged that the company pressures customers over negative reviews; those are allegations rather than established fact, and we flag them so you can read the recent reviews yourself before committing.

What is a WebView app and will Apple reject it?
A WebView app loads your existing website inside an app shell. Apple's guidelines require an app to offer more than a repackaged website, so a thin wrapper is a common rejection. AppMySite documents the distinction directly, and a WordPress-connected build behaves differently from a plain wrapper.

Where to Go Next

If you have decided the ownership question matters, our best native app makers comparison tests thirteen tools against what they actually compile. If you are still weighing whether an app earns its keep at all, start with mobile app ROI for small business and the benefits of mobile apps for small business. And if budget is the binding constraint, the cheapest app builders for small business ranking prices the low end honestly.

References

Apple

Vendor documentation and terms

Review platforms

Cost benchmarks

Schema

{
  "@context": "https://schema.org",
  "@type": "FAQPage",
  "mainEntity": [
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What is the best app maker for business in 2026?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "It depends on whether you want to own the app or rent it. Superapp, our product, is the only tool here that exports native Swift source you keep, from $25 a month, on Apple platforms only. For a done-for-you build across both platforms, GoodBarber at $55 a month billed yearly produces genuine Swift and Kotlin. If you run a restaurant, salon, gym or church, your existing vertical software probably includes a branded app already."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "How much does a business app cost to build?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Using a builder, roughly $1,200 to $6,200 over three years including Apple's $99 annual fee. Hiring an agency, Clutch reports $10,000 to $49,999 as the typical project range, with an average around $90,780 and a timeline near 11 months. Our small business app cost guide breaks the line items down."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Do I need a registered business to publish an app on the App Store?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Not to publish, but you do to publish under your business name. Apple's organization enrollment requires a legal entity and states \"we do not accept DBAs, fictitious business names, trade names, or branches.\" Without one you enroll as an individual and your personal legal name appears as the seller."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Can a sole trader publish an app under a trading name?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "No. Apple lists the seller name as your personal legal name for individual enrollments. To show a business name you need an incorporated entity and a D-U-N-S Number."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What happens to my business app if I stop paying?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "It varies and it is worth checking before you buy. Shoutem states the app \"will no longer function and will be removed from the App Store and Google Play.\" GoodBarber says it stays listed \"but it will be empty,\" and is erased a year later. Bizness Apps deletes your content, and says it \"cannot be recovered.\" Only an exported codebase survives cancellation intact."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Can I export the source code from a business app builder?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Almost never. Of the fourteen options here, only Superapp offers full native source export. GoodBarber is unusually candid about the alternative: \"You own your app, your content, your users, your data, but you don't own the source code that runs it.\""
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What is the cheapest app maker for a small business?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "On sticker price, Softr at $19 a month and Appy Pie at $16 per app per month, but neither of those figures publishes an iOS app: Softr builds web apps and Appy Pie requires the $60 Platinum tier for iOS. On a genuine three-year iOS total, Superapp at $1,197 is the lowest here. We compare the budget end in detail in our cheapest app builders for small business ranking."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Do I need both an iOS and an Android app?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Only if your customers are on both, which for most consumer businesses they are. If your audience skews heavily to one platform, building one well beats building two badly. Our guide on iOS or Android first covers how to decide with your own data."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What does an Apple Developer account cost for a business?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "$99 a year, the same as for an individual. Incorporating does not increase the Apple fee. The cost of the business route is administrative time, mainly obtaining or correcting a D-U-N-S record."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What is a D-U-N-S Number and do I need one?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "A free nine-digit business identifier from Dun and Bradstreet. Apple requires it to verify your organization's identity, legal entity status and address before organization enrollment. You do not need one to enroll as an individual."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Is GoodBarber native?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Yes, and it is one of the few in this category where the claim holds up. GoodBarber states its apps are built with Swift for iOS and Kotlin for Android. It is equally clear that you do not get the source code."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Can Glide apps go in the App Store?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "No. Glide produces progressive web apps that install to the home screen rather than store binaries. For internal tools and staff apps that is usually an advantage, since there is no review process and no Apple fee."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What is the difference between a native app and a progressive web app for a business?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "A native app is downloaded from the App Store or Google Play, gets full hardware access, and can be found by people browsing the store. A PWA is a website that installs to the home screen, ships instantly, costs nothing in store fees, and cannot be discovered through store search. For customer acquisition the store matters. For internal tools it rarely does."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "How long does it take to build a business app?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "With a builder, days to weeks for the build plus Apple's review, which is typically one to three days. With an agency, Clutch's data points to around 11 months for a typical project."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Should a restaurant use a generic app builder?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Usually not. Owner.com states there is \"no additional charge to have a mobile app for your restaurant\" within its platform, which already handles online ordering and payments. A generic builder gives you an app and none of the operational plumbing. We rank the sector-specific options in our restaurant app builders guide."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Do app builders charge extra for App Store submission?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Some do, and some make it conditional on a higher tier. Vagaro charges \"$100 USD for development\" of a branded app plus \"$100/month after publishing.\" Several builders submit through their own developer account rather than yours, which is worth knowing because it affects who controls the listing."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What is the three-year cost of a business app?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "At September 2026 list prices, from $1,197 for Superapp to $6,237 for BuildFire, both including three years of the $99 Apple Developer Program. Vertical SaaS is higher because you are buying an operating platform, not just an app: Owner.com's flat $499 a month works out to $17,964."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Are white-label app resellers worth it?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "For agencies, the economics are real. Bizness Apps charges $250 a month for unlimited apps and openly advises resellers to charge clients \"$2,500 one-time setup fee... as well as a $100 monthly fee.\" For the business buying from that reseller, it is worth knowing what the underlying platform costs."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Can I move my app to another builder later?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "Practically, no. Without source export you are rebuilding from scratch, and if the builder holds your Android signing key, as AppMySite's terms state it will, you cannot update your existing Google Play listing at all. You would need a new listing and would lose your installs and reviews."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "Is Appy Pie good for business apps?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "It has by far the largest review base here, 4.7 on G2 from 1,391 reviews and 4.6 on Trustpilot from 4,431, and the entry price is the lowest in the category. Two named Trustpilot reviewers in June 2026 alleged that the company pressures customers over negative reviews; those are allegations rather than established fact, and we flag them so you can read the recent reviews yourself before committing."
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "Question",
      "name": "What is a WebView app and will Apple reject it?",
      "acceptedAnswer": {
        "@type": "Answer",
        "text": "A WebView app loads your existing website inside an app shell. Apple's guidelines require an app to offer more than a repackaged website, so a thin wrapper is a common rejection. AppMySite documents the distinction directly, and a WordPress-connected build behaves differently from a plain wrapper."
      }
    }
  ]
}
{
  "@context": "https://schema.org",
  "@type": "ItemList",
  "name": "Best App Makers for Business in 2026",
  "numberOfItems": 14,
  "itemListElement": [
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 1,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Superapp",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Generates native Swift source your business owns and can export. Apple platforms only. From $25 a month.",
        "url": "https://superapp.dev"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 2,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Adalo",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Compiles to a real App Store and Google Play binary with a React Native UI layer. No source export. From $36 a month billed annually.",
        "url": "https://www.adalo.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 3,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Thunkable",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Publishes a store binary from a drag-and-drop editor. Underlying framework undocumented. From $37 a month billed yearly.",
        "url": "https://thunkable.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 4,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "AppMySite",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Turns a WordPress or WooCommerce site into an app. Will not release your Android signing key. From $49 a month billed yearly.",
        "url": "https://www.appmysite.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 5,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Shoutem",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "React Native apps that Shoutem submits for you. States the app stops functioning and is removed from the stores if you cancel. From $79 a month billed quarterly.",
        "url": "https://shoutem.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 6,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "GoodBarber",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Genuine Swift and Kotlin native apps, and unusually candid that you do not own the source code. From $55 a month billed yearly.",
        "url": "https://www.goodbarber.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 7,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Appy Pie",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Largest review base in the category and the lowest entry price, though iOS requires the $60 Platinum tier. From $16 per app per month.",
        "url": "https://www.appypie.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 8,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Bubble",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Web app platform with a React Native mobile output. No source export. From $59 a month billed annually.",
        "url": "https://bubble.io"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 9,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Bizness Apps",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Built for agencies reselling apps to small businesses. $250 a month unlimited for resellers, $99 a month for a single app.",
        "url": "https://www.biznessapps.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 10,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "BuildFire",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Native container with JavaScript feature plugins and the highest price here. Fees are non-refundable and it auto-renews. From $165 a month.",
        "url": "https://buildfire.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 11,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Glide",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Progressive web apps for internal and staff tools. No App Store listing and no Apple fee. From $25 a month.",
        "url": "https://www.glideapps.com"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 12,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Softr",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Web apps and client portals built over your existing data. From $19 a month billed annually.",
        "url": "https://www.softr.io"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 13,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Jotform Apps",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Installable web apps built from forms, included with any Jotform plan. From $39 a month.",
        "url": "https://www.jotform.com/products/apps/"
      }
    },
    {
      "@type": "ListItem",
      "position": 14,
      "item": {
        "@type": "SoftwareApplication",
        "name": "Vertical SaaS (Owner.com, Vagaro, Subsplash)",
        "applicationCategory": "BusinessApplication",
        "operatingSystem": "iOS, Android, Web",
        "description": "Industry software that ships a branded customer app as a feature. Owner.com includes one at no additional charge; Vagaro charges $100 development plus $100 a month.",
        "url": "https://www.owner.com/branded-apps"
      }
    }
  ]
}

Keep reading

Build iOS apps with AI

Turn your ideas into production-ready iOS apps. Fast and easy.

Get started